Posted by: Bruce | September 12, 2017

The wonders of me – loose ends.

I find it difficult devoting some time specifically to something useless, enjoyable or both for me. An epiphany connected a wiring harness to my life.

Recently I had cause to wonder about the wiring of the head deck in my daughters car and electrical problems emerging over time. With parts replaced (in the engine bay) and skinned knuckles, the problems persisted.

1-IMGP6665 Wiring harness/adapter by BBH

Electrical connections – loose ends.

The original head deck had been removed for an upgrade, then had to be re-installed. To do so, I needed to re-use a wiring harness/adapter which had been chopped around (wasn’t me). Halfway through rejoining and sorting wires on the harness the insurance company for my daughters car called to say the car was being towed away in three days time. It was declared a write off after being rear ended by a D.U.I. moron some months earlier. No need to repair anything, problems over……

But it had me thinking on life and loose ends. If I jot down a list of things to be done or finished, it’s pretty long and annoying. Included would be mostly essentials followed by useless, enjoyable things, then esoteric matters subject to speculation.

Bits and pieces, loose ends such as earn money, finish painting the garage, new blades for the mower, buy some shoes, trim (hack) some hedge type bushes gone wild, look for an old car to do up, fix my old trail bike, organise old photos, take new photos, think on old school friends and people I’ve known, imagine conversations that won’t happen, find fame and fortune, fix a sticky window, regret words spoken and not spoken, grow a man bun from my forehead, learn keyboard, learn to cook, do five hundred push-ups a day, …….. I hope there are others who know what I mean. If not, well damn.

Still, I wondered. Will I ever know if the head deck wiring caused the problems? How was I to sleep? What to do? An imbroglio state of mind, no doubt.

I resolved that this task rendered useless, became essential. It was not to be a loose end literally or figuratively speaking.

Wiring completed, unit re-installed, console back in place and turn the key…..

2-IMGP0852 - Tow truck with car, BBH image

Tow truck with car for auction.

It’s unlikely that anyone will notice the repaired wiring harness connected to a now dated head deck in a car most likely at an auto wreckers on blocks.

But I know that if the car was ever to be driven again, it would be working just fine.

Bits and Pieces by Dave Clark Five – 1964

Words for today:      Loose ends – Not this time

More to come;   same blog time, same blog channel.

Want to leave a comment?

Categories

