Posted by: Bruce | December 21, 2016

Rookwood Cemetery today – buy Australian.

Today I’m heading to Rookwood Cemetery, the largest and most historic cemetery in Australia and the largest necropolis in the Southern Hemisphere.

I mention this as I will soon be writing on a related topic of ownership in Australia. It occurred to me before setting out today; what if Rookwood was sold off to foreign investors? Another country owning this bit of dirt in Austalia?

Does that make the land no longer Australian? What if present and future residents found themselves living, or soon to be living, in Bulgaria or China or Brazil or Canada?

This mystery, and more, I hope to touch upon soon, but if I don’t move now I’ll not get there at all.

As a world famous blogger (and some might say a household name), I usually keep my movements low profile. Today is a vexing exception but I’ve taken precautions including a wig with grey hair (normally jet black) sporting two man-buns. This will allow me a peaceful visit.

In keeping with the actual theme of this post, Rookwood cemetery and its residents, I have included the following which, perhaps strangely, is relevant for me.

Your Wildest Dreams by the Moody Blues.

Words for today;     Rookwood Cemetery – a business for buying?

More to come;    same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. You’ve got my funny bone going, Bruce. What’s a man bun? Where do you position two of them? The mind boggles. Not sure if any outsiders would want our cemeteries. There wouldn’t be much profit in it, but I’m looking forward to getting your report and seeing the pictures.

    Like

    • Well Mary, a man bun is the same as the woman bun. It seems guys like to wear their hair (possibly a mullet or a mohawk overflow) in a bun. Just like the girl puts her ponytail up, so do the guys. It’s a wonder you haven’t seen them round Melbourne. Just about every 2nd guy in Newcastle seems to be a bun head, young and old. Next thing will probably be hat pins through their buns. Perhaps they like the process of fixing their hair. More dressing tables might be needed, though that would be good for the furniture industry.

      Maybe I should try my hand at clandestine street photography and shoot faceless man-buns for you.

      I don’t know if there is much money in the cemeteries but I’m sure they are run as a business and some most likely are indeed businesses. Todays visit to Rookwood was just personal interest but foreign ownership prompted this quick post….. I have another post in mind relating to Australian businesses and I wondered what people would think if a cemetery was owned by a foreign investor. That bit of ground is no longer Australia.

      As for two man buns Mary, I thought one off centre above my forehead and one off to left or right above an ear would allow me to blend with current male trends but be twice as cool by showing my individuality.

      Thanks for reading Mary and I have a question for you if that’s okay…..

      Why aren’t ponytails on females called mullets?

      Like

      • You always ask the hard ones, Bruce. Maybe because they look like pony’s tails??
        Your response cracked me up, Bruce. You have the gift. I wish you’d turn it into a post.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I wasn’t going to reply to your reply Mary, not in words anyway. So I hit the like button because I do indeed like your reply. It’s the mention of a gift that threw me a little, causing indecision about the appropriate reply. On reflection, I figured just hitting the like button without further ado might appear a litte arrogant, as if of course I possess a gift and I threw out a like in acknowledgement of your acknowledgement. But that’s not it at all. I didn’t want to mention your mention of a gift because if so, it is one of which I am unaware and will probably be better off remaining in that state. To reduce this odd effort to explain my action or inaction in providing an appropriate reply, I can only say that I didn’t (don’t) know how to handle such a description.
        Mary, would you please end my misery and clear up which part you wish for me to turn into a post. That way I can avoid having to deal with the previous four words responsible for my present imbroglio.
        I’m sorry you’ve had to endure this and no, I haven’t been drinking.
        Thank you for your kind words Mary, Merry Christmas to you and your family.

        Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

