Posted by: Bruce | September 18, 2016

The wonders of me – Hello, This Is Joannie.

She had car keys in hand, was clearly distressed and about to drive away. Luckily a friend distracted her from driving.

The next day, on a short drive, I spotted four people on their mobiles while driving. Two were ‘P’ Platers, two were not.

1-imgp5718-2

And so I wonder…..

How can stressed out drivers become unstressed enough to drive?

How much was the mobile phone, what cost is the fine and loss of licence (especially for ‘P’ Platers), what cost for hitting someone or something? What call or text is worth risking all?

For around $200 smackeroos installed, your can go the whole hog and get a unit with Radio, CD, MP3, Charging and BlueTooth features, microphone etc and have legal, hands free talking, auto answer or voice call, depending on your phone. Your mobile convenience can be more complete, safely and legally.

I know they work. As a world famous blogger with a zillion hits a year, I am sometimes barraged with up to one call a month. The unit in my old car answers automatically and I can chat, be praised or abused as the case may be.

New cars have this stuff available as fairly standard I think.

A day after the ‘four talkers’, I stumbled across this video on YouTube. Although the song is not based on a true story, it easily could be and almost certainly has happened. With little imagination it can be applied to those that talk and text, especially text, when driving (very uncool).

I should mention though, if you do listen to the song, it might be tough to get it out of your head. Maybe that’s a good thing.

(Original video changed to being YouTube viewing only; this has lyrics, no images.)

Words for today;  Russian Roulettetexting and driving (stay away from me)

More to come;      Same blog time, same blog channel

Responses

  1. You’re right. That song will be in my head all day. Texting drivers is one of my pet peeves. I always want to hop out of my car and knock on their window and grab their phone from them when they lower it. Of course, I don’t.
    What is a “P” Plater?

    Like

    • Good question. Sorry, I should have explained. In most states of Australia, new drivers start on a provisional licence which lasts for up to three years, before they get a full licence. During the provisional period a P plate (about 5-6 inches square) has to be shown on front and rear of car. Anything other than a really minor breach of rules means they cop a fine and automatically lose their licence for minimum 3 mths. Using a phone is a licence loser.
      Thanks for reading and the question. Keep singing the song!

      Like

  2. I’m willing to like it, Bruce. I usually do appreciate your video clips. But I’m not getting anything when I press play. I’ll check you tube.

    Like

  3. Smackeroos! There’s a word I haven’t heard in a while, Bruce. There’s no shoving the mobile phone back in Pandora’s box, more’s the pity. I don’t know if I can do without mine any more. Those units are a great idea. They should be compulsory like the seat belts are. But for some people it’s about the texting.

    Like

    • Thanks for letting me know about the video Mary. How dare they? I have changed over video’s. This one has lyrics while the other had a dated video image. All the same, I like the other one. The sound is the same for both.
      As for the phones, I think most new cars have phone software etc including voice control. It’s the older ones that can use an update, for not a lot of money. There are more expensive units than the one I installed but I don’t need them, even if I am a world famous blogger! Texting by voice needn’t be a killer either. Siri, on iPhones will send dictated messages without touching the phone. You don’t need a unit for that though. Have you listened to the tune yet?

      Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

