Posted by: Bruce | March 13, 2016

The wonders of me – human traffic jams.

Don’t you hate them? Five minutes in a traffic jam is one thing, 1/2 hour and that’s bad news. Any traffic reports on the radio? It helps a bit to know why, and get a rough idea of how long, I’ll be stuck in the car going nowhere. I can set myself to wait knowing that the traffic will eventually start to move. But not knowing…….

I’ve often wondered what I would do if I lived in country brutalised by terrorism and civil war, religious and economic dictatorship, senseless killings and total insecurity. A nightmare. Would I, as a single or family man escape if I could? Yes.

Having been forced to abandon and lose everything I owned, my home, my life as it was, what next? Perhaps living in a packed tent city in a nearby country, perhaps in one of Australia’s offshore/onshore detention centres halfway around the world.

Christmas Island 2010. 50 dead.How hard would it be to find myself, my family, my kids, behind security fences and razor wire. Initially, perhaps a feeling of safety, of optimism. But time drags on, other detainees are rioting, fighting, self harming and suffering. No words to hang my hat on. One month is forever to kids. A year or two of life as a prisoner? This is nowhere near normal. I can’t help them.

Stopping the boats, the drownings, the human trafficking is a good thing. It’s hard to look at those people at the bow of the boat. No one wants another Christmas Island tragedy. No one wants any bad guys hiding amongst the good ones. The checks must be made, the infrastructure in place with a bank balance large enough to finance the process.

kids detention2But bloody hell, the detention must be tough on those whose only crime was being born in a country of conflict. Is there a better, faster way?

Their kids should not be growing up watching our freedom through security fences. How will life in detention affect them? One way or another these kids will be part of our future.

Words for today;    Detention   – What if it was me, my family, my kids?

More to come;  same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. Bruce, when the issue of children stuck in detention comes up, it’s hard not to be compassionate. You have children and so do I and I’ve had some of the same thoughts you have, usually late at night. But when the talk is about children in detention the shame is that it effectively stops debate and there’s a desperate need for it in this country. As I watch in horror, images of hordes of refugees swarming over Europe’s borders I wonder how Europe will manage. (And that’s not counting the 1.1 million refugees in Germany.) Even though the needs and numbers of refugees are many and never ending, resources are limited: water, medical care, housing, education. No one ever talks about that. Many of the refugees come from countries that are constantly at war and have been for generations, centuries. If I ruled the world, I’d be pressuring the governments of the warring countries to put their houses in order.
    I want to end this opinion with ‘hope you don’t think I’m being racist.’ But I’m resisting. A lot is said about free speech, but these days it’s too easy to fling the R term at people who don’t agree with each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mary, I agree with everything you’ve said, including the time when thoughts press, late at night. I almost finished my post with a reference to future assimilation but held back. I wanted the post to be about those families now living behind security wire. I didn’t want the conclusion to negate the post with, as some might see it, overtones of racism. Your comment adds to my post Mary, thanks for that.

      Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

