Posted by: Bruce | September 15, 2015

Tony Abbott P.M. no more – the fall guy walks.

The swinging voterFrom my stuffed political armchair, I’ve paid little attention to Australia’s Federal politics over the last month or two. I’ve contented myself with the brief news on the radio when driving. There was so little good stuff that I think I withdrew from the world of news for a short time.

Maybe that explains my internal calender being out a little yesterday when I first listened to Malcolm Turnbull throwing the gauntlet at Tony Abbott P.M. The challenge was on for Monday night, I didn’t realise it was the Monday night just a few hours away.

Having said that, this morning I raised my left eyebrow a little at the news that the Libs had done a Ruddy. The left/right combo of male and female pollies delivering the knockout blow seems to be trending well. At this time, Tony Abbott has remained tight lipped. I’m predicting a graceful speech on exit.

P.M. Malcolm Turnbull

P.M. Malcolm Turnbull

I think Tony Abbott thought he was safe from the party faithful based on the Australian electorate wanting stability. Got that wrong it seems and his time (six months on Lib probation) was up.

Politics is a pretty tough game. When Tony Abbott led the Coalition to electoral victory, he was the next best thing to sliced bread. His gang stood behind him nodding and wearing meaningful expressions for the camera. As time progressed, the gang thinned, the expressions bored or frightened depending on the interview topic.

As posted previously, the P.M. looked to be skating on thin ice and the prospect of being One Term Tony was, and is now, real. Walking with him to the back benches is Just Two Beers Joe. Will they be missed?

The Nationals of the Federal Coalition are not happy campers; P.M. Turnbull won’t get much of a honeymoon.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-09-15/nationals-furious-with-abbotts-ousting-put-turnbull-on-notice/6775950

Given the title of this post, I must mention that I have sympathy for some Prime Ministers (not all) who are shown the backdoor very publicly. The very colleagues that clung to their coat tails while the going was good, fire them to oblivion to save themselves. Translated in political speak, that means to stay in power, be re-elected and then try to deliver there promises.

Some P.M.’s are ‘fall guys’. I reckon Tony Abbott goes close by his own hand.

Word for today;      ‘Fall guy’ – one attributed fault with or without foundation.

More to come;    same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. Your internal calendar is going to be a lot out for the next ten months, Bruce. Having to listen to those ‘shushy’ left wing tones is going to drive me demented. There you go, I’ve given myself away and you may not want to speak to me henceforth. I think it’s hilarious that politicians on both sides are praising Abbott’s achievements and the worst pollies and commentators can point to is that he failed to communicate. It seems to be the worst political sin these days.

    Like

    • I’m not quite sure what you mean by shusy left wing tones Mary but I’ll still talk to you. Are you referring to the coming election next year? Wasn’t Malcolm Turnbull the Communication Minister at the time he communicated the leadership challenge? What if he leads to a loss at the next election?

      Like

  2. No sure either, Bruce except the tones are those adopted by the ABC and they grate. He’s certainly a good communicator and careful, too. As time goes by, it will be obvious that he’s the slickest of the lot. (Check him out in Question Time. As you say, same time, same bat chanel.) 🙂

    Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

