Posted by: Bruce | June 16, 2015

Emile Ford and the Checkmates – What do you want to make those eyes at me for?

A day or two ago I heard this song in the car. This morning, for what seemed forever, I slept in twilight zone with this song playing on a loop. I knew most of the words and was aware that this shouldn’t be. After dragging myself from bed I was still humming the tune or singing the words. I wrote it down. By lunch time I couldn’t remember how the tune went and struggled with the words. A little odd thought I.

Perhaps I can pass it on and have music free sleep towards morning. I really like the doo-wop though. I’ve posted two videos because I like them both.

The first version is the one from the radio that invaded my sleep, the second is by Shakin Stevens and is still doo-wop. The faces and images in the second get me in.

AND

Word for today:      Doo-wop – a different way with music.

More to come;     same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. As soon as I played your clip, Bruce, the words and the memories came flooding back.good luck with getting the song out of your head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mary, I need it. After I posted the clips last night it happened again. It’s a catchy little devil of a tune. I’m going with a Johnny O’Keefe number at the moment to break the spell.

      Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

