Posted by: Bruce | December 8, 2011

New South Wales Public Service Shorthand Note Book

I came across this just recently when on a bit of a cleanup. I’m not sure how old it is and I just wondered if these are still used in the NSW Public Service. Reminds me of the days of typing pools and secretaries and booking a stenographer to sit by your desk and take notes from dictation.

Perhaps everyone can type a little these digital days or perhaps the person dictating, fires it straight into their computer via a microphone and then checks the result with spellcheck. If the user is not able to do this then I guess the data transfer would be handled by a more techy kind of secretary (guy or girl).

Takes me back a little, those typing pools. The ratatat tat of the keys and 60+ words per minute. I think the smiles, perfume, legs and mini-skirts were the best software for then and now; but I’m a guy so what do I know?

Are stenographers still in existence or is this a skill and practice doomed by digital dictation?

Word for todaySHORTHAND; a method of writing rapidly by substituting characters, abbreviations or symbols for letters, words or phrases.

More to come; same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. Hi,
    Wow that is astonishing, I’m sure that this note book isn’t used today, but it would be very interesting to know how old it is. It’s unreal what you can find sometimes during a clean up. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Magsx2. The book is probably about 20 yrs old but I’m not sure. You’re probably right about it not being used anymore. I’m hoping to hear from anyone who may have worked as a stenographer or maybe still does. Thanks for visiting. Bruce

      Like

  2. What a find. I prone to agree with you that this ugly computer is a poor replacement for a secretary!

    Like


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

