Posted by: Bruce | December 17, 2010

A Christmas Island tragedy – A deadly quest for freedom.

No matter what your view is on asylum seekers, this is just a horror.

When I first heard and saw the news I didn’t know what to think. As a Dad, I thought of the kids.

There’s no point repeating what’s already been reported but I thought I’d repeat what went through my mind then and now.

Seeing these people pay the ultimate price for freedom lets you know that most asylum seekers are desperate to get somewhere other than where they live.

Looking at this image you wonder, but really know, what is going through their minds at this moment. They would have to know that their time is probably up and those with kids couldn’t protect them.

There will be calls for answers, as there should be.  My thoughts in the first instance and which haven’t changed, rest with the people smugglers. I don’t know what the answer is but I think the people in charge of this accident waiting to happen, have to pay a huge price in exchange for the price paid by their ‘passengers’.

More to come; same blog time, same blog channel.

Want to leave a comment?

Categories

