Posted by: Bruce | March 28, 2010

You saw it here First – New abbrev. to twitter and text.

On 7/1/10 I wrote that some new abbreviations for texting were on the way.

LQ, LS and LTM: laugh quietly, laugh silently and laugh to myself.

Tonight my daughter called me and pointed at her computer screen. She was looking at weheartit.com. A big pink box was showing LQTM (laugh quietly to myself) and calling it the new lol. A combo of the predicted abbreviations, it appears to be either a variation of the original (s) using all the same letters, or an independent idea.

My daughter was happy (and surprised)  because, playing around, I made them up and she started to use them on msn. Playing or not, I could see their usefulness. This can be our claim to fame!

We prefer LTM though. It gets the message across, the Q in lqtm is superfluous.

Word for today: Fantasy; a cent to me for every time it is used.

More to come: same blog time, same blog channel.

Want to leave a comment?

Categories

