Posted by: Bruce | August 16, 2012

A cool story Bro.

A couple of weeks ago I was rummaging through my Mums old photos and discovered these two gems amongst others.

Cool talk, such as bro’s and bra’s and that sort of stuff, isn’t so new it seems. Well perhaps the ‘ bra’s ‘ is but sounds a little odd to me. Who wants to be called a bra or perhaps a singlet anyway?

These two pictures, both in France, were sent to my future grandmother by my  future great-uncle. I think that’s how the naming goes. Going by the uniform and dates, he was serving in WW1 and was around the early twenties in age.

My great uncle’s name is Harry Croker and he sent these two cards to my grandmother, Ruby Croker (brother to sister). They lived in a little country town called Nabiac in New South Wales, Australia. (Although the portrait image is larger than the written image, these are direct copies of the reverse of the portraits).

I don’t know anything of my great uncle Harry, but he was doing his duty for his country and for that, I think he was pretty cool. Cool soldier, cool Bro.

Word for today;     Cool

To make or become cool.

More to come;   same blog time, same blog channel.

Responses

  1. Very cool story, Bro. I still use the word “kool” a lot only I spell it with a “k”. That must be left over from the ’70s. These pictures are also very cool. I have several of great grandfathers and uncles that look quite the same. Definite treasures.

    • Thanks. Sounds like you have your own kool stories and photos to think about. Would our past relatives think of science fiction if told their photos would be scanned and posted on the internet for the world to see?

      • I imagine the first thing they would say is, “what’s the internet?” But, yes it would be very sci-fi to them. Depending on the mind bend they could think it was witchcraft or sorcery as well. I’m sure there are some that think that now. Personally, I think it is magic ;-)

      • I’m with you. I think its magic too.

  2. This is lovely, Bruce!
    How wonderful it must have felt for you to hold those photos.

    Modern technology is totally awesome, allowing us to communicate the way we do, but it’s also taken away a lot of magic from the world, I think.

    Once upon a time, photographs were rare and treasured things.These days they are mostly viewed on screens unless you’re flipping through an old album.

    Thanks for sharing these with us. It was a cool (and heartwarming) story!
    Bri

    • Thanks for reading Bri, I’m really glad you liked it. Bruce

  3. I love sepia photographs. They’re a lot more restful on the eyes. I have occasionally seen them in their original frames being sold in Opportunity shops which is sad. Thanks for sharing yours with us.

    • Sepia does have its own quality. Perhaps the warmer colour versus the cooler black and white. The writing on these photos grabbed my attention in the first place. Seeing photos in Op shops does make you wonder how they came to be there. I’m glad you like them. Bruce


Want to leave a comment?

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

